Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Are Poppers/Steel Plates FTSA?

Lastcat

This isn't an RO Test question.

We had a question whether a Popper, Plate or Steel was left standing at the end of COF and would that be a FTSA? On the Scoring Tablet, it is usually just minus 1 steel (-5 points). Been searching the Rules but have not been able to find the ruling for steel and leaving a Popper, Steel or even a Plate on a plate rack. I'm new to the sport and shot a few Matches. I have seen steel standing and don't recall a FTSA Proc. during my 3 yrs in the game. 

I found that 10.2.7 could apply, except as long as they shot at the steel at least once and it is still standing. Then if it is left standing it would be a -5 penalty and not a FTSA. Since the steel is a scoring target and the competitor left said plate/steel standing without engaging, then this would be an FTSA? Maybe I just answered my own question. 😜 Clarification would be helpful. 

Is there a ruling for failure to engage a popper/steel/plate? Comments?

7 minutes ago, broadside72 said:

FTSA only applies when the shooter Fails To Shoot At a target. If they miss the steel plate/poppper and move on, its just a miss. No different than a cardboard target. 

Right, but on the score pad, one can enter 1 less steel in a certain area of the score pad. But do you also mark it as a Mike? If so where? Or does entering 1 less steel also apply the Mike? Then it would be -5 for the steel and -10 for the Mike. If that is the case.

Edited by Lastcat

2 minutes ago, Lastcat said:

Right, but on the score pad, one can enter 1 less steel in a certain area of the score pad. But do you also mark it as a Mike? If so where? 

By marking one less steel that IS the mike. There is no other place it gets marked. Then if RO KNOWS they didn’t shoot at it that’s also an FTSA

12 minutes ago, Sarge said: