Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Tactical Solutions 1022TE 16.5" Aluminum 15 oz barrel - for SCSA

Hoops

I re-read the description today on this barrel and it appears that the breech face/tenon is also aluminum with a barrel diameter liner from breech to muzzle.  I would have some concern with the impact of the bolt over time against the aluminum breech face.   Would appreciate any comments to this.  I have no experience with this type of design.

3 hours ago, Hoops said:

I re-read the description today on this barrel and it appears that the breech face/tenon is also aluminum with a barrel diameter liner from breech to muzzle.  I would have some concern with the impact of the bolt over time against the aluminum breech face.   Would appreciate any comments to this.  I have no experience with this type of design.

I had one that got pretty beat up over a few thousand rounds. It never cause me any problems, but it looked like it had five times the number of rounds on it. 

44 minutes ago, nso123 said:

I had one that got pretty beat up over a few thousand rounds. It never cause me any problems, but it looked like it had five times the number of rounds on it. 

That’s what I was thinking would happen.  I think I will pass on this one. 

thank you

They get beat to heck... but it never seemed to affect performance .... if you are looking for a SC barrel I would recommend one of the super lights out there that use a 5 inch steel barrel with a sleeve to  get it to the 16 inch legal requirement.... I use a Wiland and am very very pleased with it. It is 11 oz and all the weight is off the end where it counts... He also has a 8 oz Tritium model available on special order if you want the lightest available.  Photo is of the wifes RFRO racer

Evie 2021.jpg

Thanks for the info and photo.  That's a nice looking set up.   

I have a Wiland barrel and chassis.   It functions very well.