Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Mag capacity and base pad questions.

ihocky2

Please forgive the simple question, but I haven’t really found a straight forward answer yet. I am new to CZ’s, just picked up an SP01 for Production and IDPA SSP. I need to pick up some extra mags and want to add base pads. So far I am looking at Shock Bottle, Springer, and ArmoryCraft for the base pads. The biggest thing I have seen is that most pads leave more of a gap with the 17 rd mags than with the 16rd. Springer seems to be the exception.

I am looking mostly at Mec-Gar mags. Other than the obvious 17 is one more than 16 (cue Spinal Tap reference), is there any reason to go with one over the other?

The 17 round mags are more ubiquitous, that's the reason to go with them. It is easier to find basepads, replacement springs and such. You can even get a nickel plated version. I shoot and have shot for years a SP01 Shadow in IDPA in SSP.

1 hour ago, rowdyb said:

The 17 round mags are more ubiquitous, that's the reason to go with them. It is easier to find basepads, replacement springs and such. You can even get a nickel plated version. I shoot and have shot for years a SP01 Shadow in IDPA in SSP.

What base pads are you running and do they have a gap with the base pad and 17 round mags? Does the gap really matter?

The Henning Pro basepad is the best for reducing the gap. Doing a slide lock reload sometimes you can over insert the mag and that will lock the gun up. For me it was much more of a problem on the Shadow 2 than on SP01 or other 75 series guns.

I currently have both Henning and Springer Precision basepads for idpa guns.