Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Polymer 80% handgun build question

How hard/reliable are these to make?

im an average joe without a milling machine or fancy tools. I’m an electrician. How hard is this and is it worth messing around with. 

ive talked myself out of this only due to me convincing myself that it won’t last/be reliable. 

what else do I need tool and parts wise?

Edited by Atlasguy321

I am also curious.

there is another company that makes a pretty fool proof looking item for their

pistol lowers. 

I think this is the website

https://www.matrixprecisionparts.com

I have not ordered anything from  them and am not endorsing them nor are they paying me anything.

Just wondering...

miranda

Edited by Miranda
left out a very important 'not'

I just built one a few weeks ago.  You have to drill the holes straight, need a drill press or something to keep the drill 90 degrees to the frame or you will fight the pins.  The rear rails don’t fit. I had to fit it to the frame, kinda a PIA.  The whole thing had to drop lower in the frame to align with the pin hole.   Had to piece out the lower parts kit, because no one had a kit in stock.  Only have about 200 rounds through so far, but no malfunctions yet.  Something is binding when I try to put the slide assembly on, not sure what it is yet, takes some wiggling and cussing to get it on, but once on, it’s fine.  I would build another  one.  Actually I have another one, for a rainy day.  Polymer 80 frames. 

As far as I can tell just the rails.   It’s based on gen 3.  I used a gen 4 barrel ,trigger assembly, and all the slide parts had them laying around. Everything else was gen 3.  Used a Brownells branded slide.  

just fyi if you're doing this to get a better grip angle and/or stippling, brownells (and perhaps others) sell "80%" fully finished & serialized frames.  actually cheaper than the true 80%s.