Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Dealing with the crab people.

Doge

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Crab_mentality#:~:text=Crab mentality%2C also known as,are trapped in a bucket.

People can have a fascination watching someone progressing or doing well break down. With winter being at my new place I have more time to think as matches are not happening. I started shooting seriously in 2015 along with getting a new job. This job has me moving a lot (5 times) and while I've been able to participate at a lot of clubs the last place I was stationed frustrated me a bit. 

Most clubs I got to were generally supportive but some of the shooters at that area are competitive which is fine until it can get toxic. At one point a passive aggressive match director shadow banned me from the fb page of the club and made a foolish post trying to ban me from competing in USPSA. Luckily the Area Director caught it and addressed the issue, this individual is no longer a Match Director. I've also had issues in the past with IDPA clubs cheating to get my score down but I'm not sweating the locals too much. 

I've been lucky to get support from several companies including the one I work for but shooting is not my job. I've encountered fellow competitors that have made very backhanded comments towards me and hold me in contempt. Often stating the "Oh how come you and not me?". If I don't do well at a match several are quick to point it out. I enjoy competing and improving with others but sometimes the improvement of others shows a less humble side and sometimes the smack talk can uncover some other feelings.