Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

9mm Die Selection - Swager

DirtBag

Good Evening all - 

I'm new to progressive reloading and am working to create a setup very close to Gavin Toobe's setup on "WARP SPEED! Loading 9mm on the Dillon RL 1100 with Mr. Bullet Feeder" see here

My question is - 

In station 3 he states he's using a Swager (with hold-down) die, which one is it? Or which one would you recommend for SPP (link please)?

I will eventually be doing 45 ACP and .223 so will need to clean other pockets as well but I'm most concerned with the initial setup.

Any thoughts or suggestions here?

Thanks

Edited by DirtBag

I’m using FW Arms Auto-centering swage foot die for .223 and stock Dillon swage foot die for 9mm. In the video you linked, he’s using the stock Dillon swage foot die for 9mm. It’s the same one I’m using and it’s what came with the 9mm conversion kit for the 1100 and 1050.

I found out that using the stock Dillon swage foot die for 9mm prevents the case from being “stuck” on the MBF funnel. It  flares the case deeper and allows for smoother reloading session by preventing the bullet form tipping over.

FW Arms auto-center-swage-foot die

Edited by George16

4 hours ago, George16 said:

FW Arms Auto-centering swage foot die for .223

Nice. 

When using FW Decapping Die what station are you sizing the brass?  Are you using these dies in the same pass as sizing and trimming, or are you making 2 passes for processing?  

Edited by Boomstick303

7 hours ago, Boomstick303 said:

Nice. 

When using FW Decapping Die what station are you sizing the brass?  Are you using these dies in the same pass as sizing and trimming, or are you making 2 passes for processing?  

Thanks. Single pass.