Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

AR9 vs hard primers? (Updated: Incorrect headspace?)

I just got a new completely stock Foxtrot Mike FM9B.

And I'm having some problems with light primer strikes.

The ammo I'm using is known to have hard primers (Swedish military ammo), but they work very reliably in my Glocks, and other duty-type handguns.

I'm pretty new to AR9s though. 

So I was thinking maybe they are picky about primers due to their firing pin spring...?

I have tried bending the hammer spring as much as I could, to increase the power of the strike, but it wasn't enough.

The firing pin looks good and runs freely in it's bore

Any thoughts?

20210131_150520_copy_604x805.jpg

20210131_150912_copy_604x805.jpg

Edited by grottulf

both mine have standard AR15 hammer springs in them and no issues with CCI SP or SPM primers.

When I got my M&P 15 5.45X39 it came with an extra power hammer spring for the hard primers in the surplus ammo.  So, someone out there makes extra power hammer springs in case you find you need one of those.

2 hours ago, StealthyBlagga said:

What did you do to your hammer spring? It looks like it has collapsed - if that is how you bent it, you went in the wrong direction. You know its supposed to sit on top of the trigger pin, right?

55AFF97.jpg?x99531&f=1&nofb=1

ALG-ACT.jpg&f=1&nofb=1

Yes, as I said, I bent it to stiffen it up.

Not to soften the pull, as most people do 🙂

It sits on top of the trigger pin.

But it was tricky to get it there, when it was bent so much.

20210202_065345_copy_604x805.jpg

Edited by grottulf

Could it be a headspace issue?

I don't have a feeler gauge that is narrow enough to get in there, but I'm thinking about narrowing one down so it fits...

Or is there a better way to measure that?

20210202_065844_copy_1209x1612.jpg

Edited by grottulf
11 minutes ago, Bdh821 said: