Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Is fast double tap possible without strength?

HepaHarpy

Hi. I'm a newbie running a Sig P320 Carry with stock bulbous grip module and 1 IDPA match experience.

I'm currently trying to do a fast double tap at 10 meters (10.9 yards) but unable let the sight track to POA efficiently.  I don't lose the grip but the gun does not always automatically come back to the POA. I tried to grip harder (just to the point before shaking) but my hands and arms would fatigued within 10 shots. 

I'm 174 cm/ 5' 8" tall and weigh 68 kg/ 150lbs btw. I dont hav massive forearms or anything. 

My question is that, with proper technique, is it possible to do fast double taps with average hand and forearm strength? or I just need to workout more. 

51 minutes ago, HepaHarpy said:

Hi. I'm a newbie running a Sig P320 Carry with stock bulbous grip module and 1 IDPA match experience.

I'm currently trying to do a fast double tap at 10 meters (10.9 yards) but unable let the sight track to POA efficiently.  I don't lose the grip but the gun does not always automatically come back to the POA. I tried to grip harder (just to the point before shaking) but my hands and arms would fatigued within 10 shots. 

I'm 174 cm/ 5' 8" tall and weigh 68 kg/ 150lbs btw. I dont hav massive forearms or anything. 

My question is that, with proper technique, is it possible to do fast double taps with average hand and forearm strength? or I just need to workout more. 

Sure it is possible. Try building your grip with more leverage instead of just gripping hard. You will develop the muscles you need over time.

Your wrists should be locked, without tensing your shooting hand up. Thats not easy.

Elbows/Arms slightly bend and relaxed. Shoulders relaxed.