Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

All, I’m fairly new to reloading. Last year I was able to pick up a super 1050 and began loading 40s&w and 9mm. Ive decided it’s time to start loading up some 10mm for my long slide 1911s. 
I’ll be using new Armscor brass, 180gr blue bullets RNFP over 5.4-6gr Titegroup (published load data). Is there anything I need to know, or advice, or something you learned while loading 10mm that may not apply for 40s&w?

I’ll be loading for a Para Elite Hunter Longslide and a Springfield TRP. 

Thanks in advance. 

Usually slower burning powders than TG for the 10mm

TG is fine for light loads

To get the velocity that the 10mm is famous for, you need slower powders.

AA9, Bluedot etc 

Thanks Jc, Midway has some HS6 and CFE Pistol available. From the hornady load data they should yield the upper end velocity the 10mm is known for. Any experience with with of those?

HS6 in 38 super for major.

But look at the information in the loading books. I like to use the powder that provides the most velocity with the lowest pressure.

Roger. I didn’t think to look at the pressure. Thanks. Looks like CFE pistol yields the most velocity and has the lowest pressure. I ordered some and will try it out. 

TG throws off pressure spikes and I don't use it (it also hasn't been all that accurate in any of my loads).

Next, you're looking at jacketed bullet data for a lead bullet. You may want to start a bit lower. My data shows 180gn lead bullets and TiteGroup starting at 3.7gn and MAX at 5.1gn.

Finally, is this the only powder you have? Any powder from AA5 to AA9 would be better.

Oh, sorry, forgot this was an action pistol sight. So, if looking for PF, I would still look for any other fast powder, with AA2 and 231/HP38 being my initial choice. 

However, with powder being unavailable, just be careful and be sure to use the right loading data.

Edited by noylj