Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Stock 2 mag issue

Bakerjd

All new 9mm mags with grams guts and Henning 140mm base pads. If I load them to 22 rounds the bottom 2 jam up. They are stuck against each other. What is the fix for this? I'm very new to tanfo quirks.

Thank you,

Josh

Well that didnt work. Loading anything past 8 rounds and rounds rattle in the mag. Load to 20 there is a rattle but can run them out of the mag just fine. Load 22 and follower falls over with round between follower and mag body. Indontbeven have this issue with STI untuned mags that I've dropped 100 times on concrete. 

Easiest fix: load to 20 and get a MBX for your 'big stick'.

The root problem is the mag narrowing ribs stop before the Henning pad starts.   That widens the tube up enough that rounds can and do stack side by side.  Examine one jammed up and you'll always see the jammed pair just below the end of the ribs.

Fooling with springs and followers can reduce it, but won't be a complete fix. 

This same problem was a thing in old two-rib STI mags with +2 and +3 pads on them-- as soon as rounds get below the ribs, bad things happen.  It's why there are STI big sticks and not +6 basepads for STIs.

You can extend the ribs down by punching or welding or sticking a shim on the inside as well.  Arredondo used to make a little plastic gizmo that extended them in STI tubes, but I doubt it fits Tanfos.

CZ's and small-frames don't have this problem since they use narrower mags.

36 minutes ago, shred said:

Easiest fix: load to 20 and get a MBX for your 'big stick'.

The root problem is the mag narrowing ribs stop before the Henning pad starts.   That widens the tube up enough that rounds can and do stack side by side.  Examine one jammed up and you'll always see the jammed pair just below the end of the ribs.

Fooling with springs and followers can reduce it, but won't be a complete fix.