Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Primer pocket depth

tomjerry1

Alright, this is for all you smart revolver guys, I'm new to this game. I recently got a S&W 929, and never would have imagined that a pistol would be so finicky with primers. I've been shooting autos for years, and have never had the issue I'm experiencing with this revolver. It has an extended firing pin, Wilson springs, and I polished the internals with a fine india stone. It started out with a 14 lb double action trigger pull prior to the parts, and now I'm at 7.75 lb DA pull. In the beginning I was using CCI and Winchester SPP, everything ignited at 14 lb, but at 7.75, about a 25% failure to ignite. I got lucky, and a friend traded me for Federal SPP. Federal almost always ignites, down to about a 2% failure rate, I don't want to tolerate that. 

So, I read in many posts, there is such a thing as a correctly/carefully/properly primed case with Federal? I've always been under the assumption, that if the primer is seated just below the rim, this would be a seated primer.  I have checked the primer depth, .004 to .006 seated below the rim.  What is the trick to obtaining a 100% ignition?  Also, I'm using Winchester brass. 

primer.JPG

Edited by tomjerry1
Forgot someting

"full seated" is the correct answer. 

I've got a 1050, so I can set a consistent primer depth at .009 below flush. ( sweet zone is between 008 and 010 IMO )

You want to eliminate any "gap" between the flash hole on the brass and the bottom of the primer. If the firing pin needs to waste energy moving the primer fully forward before setting off its counter intuitive to what you want. Fully seat and set the hammer accordingly. 

Also, using the correct firing pin is pretty important. A factory pin that measures .495 will work, or buy an aftermarket pin from somebody like apex or TK.

Edited by alecmc