Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

How to pick first gun? CZ Shadow 2 vs Sig P320 X5 Legion

matto6

I know, "The gun doesn't matter.  Use the one you have!"  But I'm new and didn't own a gun, so I bought two!

When I first held the guns, I thought I liked the Sig better.  Everything is easier to operate - grip angle, racking the slide, mag release, slide release. It all feels better.

Then I shot them (slow fire at paper) and I concluded I liked the Shadow 2 better.  The recoil impulse felt better, the trigger felt better, etc.

But then I started learning how to properly grip the gun (stopped grabbing it like a monkey grabs a hammer, as Bob Vogel says.. search youtube) and I realized that the Sig points more naturally for me.   The deep inset on the Shadow 2 grip makes the gun always pointing high after holster draw.  I have to train myself to tip it down more than I think I should.  

I'd like to stop going back and forth and pick one to focus on for a while.  The question is - which factors should I consider to choose which one to pick?   I like certain things about each better, but I'm too new to even know what's important.  Thoughts?  Flip a coin and move on?

Advice welcome!

Edited by matto6

They are both great guns.  I have a Shadow 2 myself.  It wasn't a practical decision, because I want to shoot IDPA from time to time, and the S2 is not legal in IDPA (too heavy), but I just really like the Shadow and decided to go with a gun that I'm excited about shooting and training with.  I'd suggest you do the same, go with whichever one lights a bigger spark in your gut.  Sounds like the X5 might fit you better out of the box, but with training you'll be able to adapt to either one, most likely.