Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Need assistance with Gold Custom Eric 9mm Open Tanfoglio

Banacek

Hello,

I am looking for a new race gun.  I was not happy that STI changed their name and dropped their race gun line.  Not looking for a custom gun and have seen the Tanfoglio guns at previous competitions.  

The gun comes stripped down with no site.  What are people putting on them and where do you buy magazines.  

Does anyone know how the Tanfoglio Gold Custom Eric compare to the CZ 75 TS Czechmate?

Thanks.

Gold Custom Eric.jpg

Czechmate.jpg

Hi,

I am rather new to the open pistol circus but let’s add my thoughts. I am building an open gun on a Tanfoglio limited custom. I like that it has the large frame intended for 45 ACP so I can load long 9 Major ammo. As I understand CZ does not offer that option. Both guns are solid weapons. For me the factory trigger on CZ is better than Tanfoglio (less creep). Magazines are easy to get for both here in Germany and are not overly expensive. For my SVI getting mags here is also easy but very expensive. 
just my 2 cents

I used limited tanfo’s converted to open division for a season or two. Patriot defense is the company in the US that will be your go to if you are here. They sell most things tanfo. 

I used 9mm major in mine. Even using a limited I had one of the barrels reamed (by patriot defense) to load longer.  

You are able to get a really good trigger in the Tanfo’s. 

mag extensions to create 170mm tanfo mags weren’t around when I was shooting them so I had to use mostly 140’s with a couple mbx 170’s that were pretty good but not 100%. But now you can slap some extensions on the factory mags and get 170’s that way. The tanfo mags were super reliable. 

I’ve got a ton of match videos of them up but don’t think I did any real informational videos as to the parts on them.