Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

How to Set Up Honey Badger Case Trimmer???

Hello,

I am new to reloading and am running a dillon XL750 with Armanov Free Float tool heads and lock rings. I went with the honey badger case trimmer setup because I eventually want to convert 5.56 to 300 blk. I am at a loss for how to set this thing up. Their video sucks (or I do). Basically I am trying to set it up for 308 at the moment. My tool head is set up as follows: 1- Lee universal decapping die 2- empty 3- Redding FL size die 4- trim die 5- Lyman M die. I have C4HD Dillon style trim dies because that was what I could find in stock. Essentially the issue I am having is that when screwing the trim die down to the point it makes contact with the shell plate, there is not enough/any threads for the lock ring once screwed down to that point. Any less and there is no case protrusion into the window for the router bit to contact the case. This is just the first issue I have with this. I am pretty much at a loss with how to actually mount the router with the jack nut and set it up properly. I do not have a lathe to measure concentricity etc. If anyone could please offer advice or instructions I would be greatly appreciative. I am at a loss.

Thanks!

In theory, you can put the lock nut on the bottom side of the tool head - it works as a jam nut just as well there as on top.  Just be very, very careful and do a couple test runs with just that part going full stroke before you get everything *else* set up.  The reason I say this is that multiple people recommended that I do that... and apparently on a 550 there isn't enough room and the nut hits the fingers of the manual indexer.  Probably *not* an issue on a 650/750, but still, go slowly and make sure before you damage something like I did.