Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Skill like a GM; Confidence like a B-Class

Reds_Dot

So this is one of the primary reasons I joined the forums was to put down the thoughts, training, and lessons learned here so others can learn from my mistakes. 

Quick Background: I have been shooting for over 35 years but I only discovered and got involved in Practical Pistol shooting 8 years ago and only really became a "try-hard" 3 years ago. I have solid fundamentals and a keen grasp on pistol shooting mechanics. I have never been an athlete or participated in organized sports. I was a band geek from 7th grade through undergrad. SO, I can shoot damned well and move a bit like a wounded and beached whale. 

I made A-Class in late 2017 and only made M-class in December of 2019. Just about a year ago. I am legitimately on the cusp of making a GM classification though I don't compete at a GM level, yet. Only recently (The last 3 months or so) have I really figured out that much of what is holding me back is ME. Lanny Basham and by extension, Steve Anderson talk about the self-image and how much it matters. I can actually attest to that. It seems much like self-affirmation/warm and fuzzy/gobilty-gook. I know that but I can also tell you it's true. I don't subscribe to the Basham system but he makes a good point regarding how much self-image (not the same as self esteem) effects outcome.

Stated Goals for 2021: Make GM in Carry Optics; Learn to Shoot like a GM at matches (this will be defined by major match performance and my ability to finish at 90% or better in the division consistently); finish top 25 at 2021 USPSA Nationals in Carry Optics. Do all of this with a stock G17. 

I will be training some skills and you may hear some similar things to what CClassForLife said regarding going fast, and observing where control is lost and what I need to do to get control there.