Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Hearing Protection Help

badlander

I would like your opinions on the hearing protection offered by Axil and ESPAmerica. I am looking for in the ear electronic protection that is waterproof so it can also be used hunting in inclement weather. I have no experience with either brand. The instructors at FrontSight Academy thought highly of the Axil brand and and a few folks wore them but had no experience with the ESP brand. I have talked to representatives of both brands but they were vague on side by side comparisons.  For the money they charge I hope to get a little better direction from you folks that are actually using their products. Thanks for the help.

I have no experience with either.  I would buy neither.  First off, they are way more expensive hen you need.  They don't do very much.  The best Axil only has 29 dB NRR IF you use the foam tips.  ESP is just blowing smoke.

If you are shooting USPSA or SCSA 29 dB NRR is NOT ENOUGH to prevent hearing loss.  Ask me how I know.  If you are an RO you need much more than that.

I wear Howard Leight 33 dB NRR disposable foam ear plugs, inserted properly.  I also wear either 30 dB NRR muffs over them, or 26 dB NRR electronic muffs over them.  That is enough to protect you from Open shooters.  With the electronics you can dial it down when running Open shooters and up for everybody else.  For hunting, just use the electronic muffs.

17 minutes ago, zzt said:

If you are shooting USPSA or SCSA 29 dB NRR is NOT ENOUGH to prevent hearing loss. 

The only use he mentioned was hunting. Second scentence.

A situation where you don’t want an over-the-ear muff, given the stock you’ll need to cheekweld against.

You’re not wrong about ROing Open guys, where doubling up on hearing protection is vital... but I’m pretty sure nobody’s throwing dozens of popple-holed spaceblaster shots at a deer. If they are, I want video. 😳