Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

2-stage process even for 9mm?

matto6

I'm new to reloading, so I am reading the Lyman reloading book while I wait for my Dillon 750 to arrive.   One of the things he makes clear is to keep lube of any form away from the steps of priming and dropping powder.  He repeats multiple times to wash your hands after touching anything involving lube.

Yet I see many folks recommending lube for 9mm in a progressive press.   I read things like, "Just make sure not to get too much inside the casing and you won't end up with squibs."  I can't say I'm too excited about the possibility of squibs being determined by how much, or the angle at which I spray the lube.   And then there's the issue of having to tumble loaded rounds to clean them, which most people say is fine but a lot of resources say to never do.

Am I crazy for wanting to make this a 2-stage process, even for 9mm?  Would I be the only person on the planet taking this precaution?  

Stage 1

1.  Clean brass in tumbler

2. Spray on dillon lube

3. Deprime and resize (is there that could be added to a prep tool head for 9mm?)

4. Tumble again to remove lube

Stage 2

1. Prime, powder, seat, crimp on the 750

It's an extra pass but the Stage 1 would be fairly quick because you don't need to monitor powder, primers, bullets, etc

Or does "spray and pray" work well enough that this is truly unnecessary?  In that case, why did I buy the Lyman book?   

Edited by matto6

I'm also wondering if I could now include a Mr Bullet Feeder,  powder check (RCBS lockout die) while keeping separate seat and crimp dies.  But I don't think that's possible because powder drop need to stay in station 2, right?

I'm also wondering if I could now include a Mr Bullet Feeder,  powder check (RCBS lockout die) while keeping separate seat and crimp dies.  But I don't think that's possible because powder drop need to stay in station 2, right?