Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Sorting Brass, headstamp ID & OAL

ML123

I am new to reloading and have loaded 800rds 9mm so far.  I fired the first 300rds without issue but was getting a huge spread on my OAL and couldn't figure out why so I started sorting my brass just so I could run everything the same.  I loaded four so far FC, Blazer, S&B and *USA*.  

FC and Blazer seemed to be spot on with what I set the seating die up for 1.080, FC was right on Blazer tad longer in 1.082-4 range.  I loaded 300rds of these two and all of them case gauged in the Hundo nicely too.

S&B and *USA* were both way to long at 1.090-1.094 with all of these rounds failing the plunk test in my CZ chamber.  I loaded about 50 rds of these two cases and the results were all the same and very consistent.  I am going to try Winchester cases today.

I also pulled all the WMA and WCC Winchester brass as I believe it is crimped? 

Does anyone know what FC 19 or FC 18 cases are I did a search and not finding anything?  I pulled them suspecting military brass but they don't look like they have crimp and are definitely different than the std FC case?  I found the thread on FC NT but these are definitely FC 19 or a few FC 18.

Does anyone know who makes *USA* brass I found a thread talking about it and it was determined its not starline?

I also found a few lists of headstamps to avoid is there a good source for what not to use?  I know to throw out Ammoland and PMC any others?

2 minutes ago, ML123 said:

I am new to reloading and have loaded 800rds 9mm so far.  I fired the first 300rds without issue but was getting a huge spread on my OAL and couldn't figure out why so I started sorting my brass just so I could run everything the same.  I loaded four so far FC, Blazer, S&B and *USA*.