Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Question on lubed 9mm brass

Jory45acp

I've read that guys are lubing 9mm brass and I'm new to this having previously lubed only rifle cases, not pistol cases. I've seen different methods for lubing but my question is, is anyone taking a step to remove lube once applied after loading or not? If so what method? Any input is appreciated. 

• Replies 50
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Bit of Dillon lube or oneshot.  I dont and I suspect the vast majority dont bother removing it. Its not the same as lubing rifles. Most folks are using carbide dies for straightwall pistol, and it takes a pretty small amount of lube to just make then size a bit easier.

I used to not lube. but after switching off dillon carbide size die to Mighty armory it became necessary. After loading a bunch with lube I didnt like it at first but after switchng die back I realized I did like the lube. The press just works so much smoother

I throw 9mm cases into the tumbler with walnut media and a dash of Dillon Case Polish.  I run it for between 30 and 45 minutes, separate the brass, spray with One Shot, and toss.  Then I resize, decap and two step expand.  After that they go back into the tumbler for at least 3 hours.  After I separate the media I reload them as normal, but with the sizing die removed.  I do it this way because it takes more effort to resize 9mm cases than it does for 40sw or 45.  If I don't use the case lube I can only resize about 100 cases before my elbow screams quit.  Since I'm loading 9mm major I don't want to leave case lube inside the case, because it might contribute to bullet set back.  

I use lanolin in alcohol and don't clean them after.