Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Fancy shooting jerseys with names on them...

-JCN-

I’m new to the sport and stay local for matches. But I see a lot of guys (of all skill levels) wearing jerseys with their names on them. 

Are these things that they get / got for registering at big matches or are they things that they paid money separately to have made?

Just curious and didn’t want to ask someone in person....

Some are paid for by sponsors, some by the individual in order to meet sponsor requirements, some by those that want to look like the BMOC, some that just want to be part of the gangs..

YMMV.

some are also the most “interesting shooters you will ever meet.”

take note of the names, then look around at the sport news... some are great shooters... some are the avg Joe...

like I said your mileage may Vary....

1 hour ago, -JCN- said:

Are these things that they get / got for registering at big matches or are they things that they paid money separately to have made?

Both. I think of them as no different than bowling league shirts. Or bumper stickers. 

One can get pretty nasty at a match so it's nice to have a shirt or two dedicated to the endeavor. 

If I'm now asked to wear a shirt I ask them to just send me a t shirt rather than a fancier shirt.

Also for some people it's part of their persona. You'll see guys form teams and all get the same shirt made. Team hold my beer. Team Godzilla. And so on.

People wear them to the matches for the same reasons serious road bikers and wanna-be serious bikers wear them (Techwear was started by an ex-pro racer). 

The good jerseys are very nice if you shoot where it's hot. 

Beat the pants off the old embroidered polos we used to wear.