Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Good benchmark for beginner times?

Camhabib

Complete beginner here, coming form the world of skeet shooting. Since I haven't been able to attend my first match yet, I've been doing some dry firing at home, working on both my draw and trigger pull. I have a Mantis X10 that I've been using to improve what I can from home, but I'm having a hard time figuring out what kind of numbers I should be shooting for (pun intended). According to my data, from buzzer to shot fired on target (with hands starting above the head), I'm about 1.9-2 seconds (see bellow). I just picked up the Ben Stoeger book and have been going through it, but I'd love to know how horrible my numbers are compared to others. According to the software, the various times are defined as:

• Grip: time from the start beep to when your hand grips the gun
  • Pull: how long it takes you to pull the firearm out of the holster
  • Horizontal: time from the pull to when the gun is drawn and rotated to horizontal alignment
  • Target: how long it takes you to get on target after getting the gun horizontally
  • Shot: time from being on-target to when the shot breaks

IMG_9879.PNG

46 minutes ago, Farmer said:

Read Ben’s book carefully. He mentions that transitions and stupid mistakes or getting rattled eat more time than your draw/first shot. 

It also said fast draw is very important as it encompasses other skills in fast shooting like fast correct grip, fast precise index w/ your eyes in multiple targets transitions among others.

Depends in one’s beliefs. But Stupid mistakes and being rattled happens in both fast and slow draws.