Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Trigger reset issue, too light a load or too heavy a finger?

Installed a CMC trigger in my FM9 lower that CMC modded for me to 2.5 pounds. Put about 1200 rounds through it without issue.

This is my first PCC and my speed is really starting to finally pick up. Last match I had five or six times when I was really  blazing at targets  within 10 feet and had to cycle bolt to get a round off. A round was in the chamber and there was no indication of any primer strike whatsoever on any of the ejected rounds.  I'm also shooting a REALLY light load.  I already talked to CMC and they said send it back because they have a lifetime warranty but I have some questions to the knowledge base here for informational purposes only.

The gun goes bang the VAST majority of the time and cycles perfectly UNTIL I start to really push it fast. After  my discussion with CMC I know that one of the mods done to get a 2.5 lb trigger is to lighten up the disconnector spring. 

Would a lighter disconnector spring cause reset problems,especially if I might be riding the trigger a bit, during a fast string?

would a light load amplify the reset issue?

CMC did say that I could have reset issues when I asked them to do a 2.5 lb trigger for me so I think I'll have them set it up for the normal 3.5 lb. If I don't ride the trigger it works perfectly but my old, slow fingers just don't get off the trigger fast enough during a fast run.

What could be happening the trigger is not fully at the rear due to recoil backing the trigger from your finger when the bolt is cocking the hammer causing the hammer to fallow. If the trigger is not fully pulled at the time the bolt ramp depresses the hammer the latch doesn't catch it. 

Another possibility is that since you said that it only happens when you are trying to shoot really fast is that you might not be releasing the trigger fully. That would not allow the hammer to reset.