Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

9mm load that will work in Glock 19 and 1911.

Bobkoh

Sorry guys, I am new to reloading 9mm and have no problems with a 9mm 1911 (I'll be adding a  2nd shortly), however a friend of mine has my Dillon and it would be nice to set up a load (preferably 124 grain bullet) that works in both a stock Glock 19 and (the easy one) a 9mm 1911. I normally use 231 if anyone out there knows of a load, it would be a great help

One more question, is anyone using coated bullets in a stock Glock 19? Sorry I have to ask, I am NOT a Glock person. The blue bullets look interesting, but after asked two Glock armorers, it's a "not sure" kind of things.

Thanks in advance for your help. 45acp is still easy, I'm still using my 44 year old Star. :)

Edited by Bobkoh
minor correction

If the 9mm load will work in the 1911, then it will work in the Glock.  The finicky gun is the 1911, not the Glock! 

Is that always the case? Don’t some 1911s allow you to load much longer than will fit in a Glock magazine?

Years back when I shot a .40 cal SVI, I was using an OAL that wouldn’t fit in a Glock mag. I don’t know about traditional 1911s, but my STI 9mm will also accept a much longer OAL then the Glock.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

what you will find is basically bullet profile that the 1911 will feed and a length that will fit into the Glock .At one time I had three different 1911s .#1 would only feed /function wilt round nose ammo loaded to 1.175 ish length . That would not fit in any Glock mag that I have .#2 would feed /function with round nose ammo loaded to 1.150 length .some times this would not work in my glocks but rarely. # 3 worked with all bullet profiles and  is very length tolerant.         As far as coated bullets go yes they are arguably the most used bullet composition. use the search or better yet just look tear are at least three discussions going on right now.