Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Primer Question - Light Strikes

Onikudaki

I have a Dillon 650 that I have been loading on for a few years now. Never had any issues until now..

I loaded 500 rounds for a range session last month and had 60%-70% or more of the rounds give me light strikes with two different Gen 5 Glocks. These guns are all stock as far as the internals go and confirmed with a friends gun and ammo that was with me that its not the guns but definitely this batch of ammo I loaded.

Can anyone provide some insight on the most probable causes of light strikes or what to look for on the 650 to see what could have changed to start causing this?

Thank you!!

More information needed. Will the failed rounds fire if you try them a second time?Did you change primer brand and what brand?Do you wet clean your brass? Could ask more questions but start there.

2 hours ago, AHI said:

More information needed. Will the failed rounds fire if you try them a second time?Did you change primer brand and what brand?Do you wet clean your brass? Could ask more questions but start there.

Yes, they all fired on the second strike.

2 hours ago, Guy Neill said:

Quite commonly the first firing pin strike on a high primer looks like a light hit.

If any fired on a second firing pin hit, it is high primers.

Sounds like high primers is the issue.

2 hours ago, CHA-LEE said:

Make sure that your primer seating punch/die hasn't come loose. That is a common issue with 650's.

I will check that. Thank you!

On 8/3/2020 at 3:08 PM, CHA-LEE said:

Make sure that your primer seating punch/die hasn't come loose. That is a common issue with 650's.

50190339196_12ff19b8ab_b.jpg

The seating punch/die seems to be tight.

I tightened down the shell plate and I think that might have solved my problem.

Can the shell plate being too loose have an effect on primer seating?