Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Pistol Load Development Process on a Progressive Press?

Michael303

I'm brand new to reloading and I've got my press (RL 1100) all dialed in for the most part.  I think I'm ready to do some load development and testing but I'm hoping to get some feedback on the actual process before I try and fumble my way through it alone.

My first question is how many rounds should I make for each test load?  I was thinking 20 but maybe that's too much.

I've got some N320 test data off the Vihtavuori website that I was going to use as a starting point.  How far below their starting load data should I start if at all and how many grains should I space the test loads?  

Should I be measuring and dispensing the powder for the test loads right on my press or should I prep some cases then load the powder with a trickler and finish them up on the press?

Should I be testing recoil springs during this process or should I narrow it down to one load and then test springs?

Any feedback is appreciated.

Normally you start at least 10% below max load and work up. But If you are loading to a certain power factor (say 130-135) you may not even come close to the book max load.

You can first load dummy rounds without powder or primer to check that your overall length fits the magazines, chamber and dry cycles in the pistol.

You can go up .2 grains at a time, checking for signs of pressure before you move up. Five or ten rounds of each should be plenty.

Once you find a load that makes power factor and seems reliable / accurate in your gun, you can load 100 or more and tune recoil springs.

Not all bullet weights / profiles work the same in every gun so I'd recommend against buying in bulk before you are sure.

Normally you start at least 10% below max load and work up. But If you are loading to a certain power factor (say 130-135) you may not even come close to the book max load.