Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Looking for "online" coach for my daughter (junior)

Inline

Hi Everyone -

I wanted to see what options exist or if someone would be willing to (ideally) volunteer a small amount of time to help my daughter progress with USPSA and steel challenge.

Background:

She's currently 14 and has been shooting steel challenge at local matches for fun since she was 11.  She's progressed a lot in my opinion (5 steel targets in 3.21 seconds has been her best so far with a 9mm) and she started doing USPSA last year but we only got 2 matches as we started late in 2019 with USPSA.  She definitely liked it and she was totally excited about competitions this year but with the pandemic a lot of matches got cancelled and even though they are starting up again now, we're on the cautious side still (not looking to get into a pandemic debate....)  I'm a NRA basic pistol instructor (I mostly did this to teach her proper safety as well as any family/friends so they are getting the standard best practices) so she's good with pistol safety but I'm not an expert at USPSA or Steel Challenge.  I was taking her once a week last year during summer to work with a coach on steel challenge which she loved (even though it was 3 hours of driving for me as he was a distance away) and he coached her for free as she was a junior.  She thrived on picking up tips and tricks from him and really progressed.

Current status:

Doing as much dryfire as possible and I even invested in a simulator (smokeless range) that we are both using and she is definitely enjoying the simulator as it's about as close to the real thing as we can comfortably get right now.

Request: