Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

JP GMR-15 Trigger Question

I've been running a GMR-15 for about 6 months, and the only complaint is the stock trigger.  Most of my 1911/2011's have 2 - 2 1/2 lbs triggers.  My SCSA RFPO gun is a Volquartsen Scorpion that also has a 2 1/2 lbs trigger.  My RFRO has a Kidd single stage trigger that less than 1 1/2 lbs.  

I heard from several fellow competitors that the Hiperfire ECL is a great fit for the JP.

I'm looking for feedback from those who have one in a GMR-15.  Any issues?  Did the safety have to be replaced?  Any issues with the firing pin breaking?

Thanks

Typically the JP competition trigger runs 3.5 lbs, and this duty spring (usually a supplied option spring) I believe runs 4 pounds. I have replaced the JP trigger in my GMR 15 with a Trigger Tech Diamond. You can dial those sub 1lb if you want to but I hear guys are runn8ng into issues running that light of a setting. From the Trigger Tech thread some like the some do not. For the most part I have heard they run well. Mine is relatively new and I have not put it through a lot of testing yet. Initial results are great. The Diamond is an AR trigger. Trigger Tech is currently designing a PCC Specific trigger, which I will be interested in when it’s released. The hammer looks different from what I have seen so far. 

The current pull is around 3 3/4 lbs.  I'm having issues with trigger freeze on close targets (5-15 yds.), and it's costing me big time.  On one stage last match, I lost over a second and pulled a C on the last shot trying to overcome the "freeze".  A lot of reading and watching some of Max's videos points at a heavy trigger pull weight as the cause.

10 hours ago, cferree said: