Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Very bad leading with coated bullets

Sean_Doe

I am new to reloading. I bought some DG Hi-Tek super coat 115 grain bullets.  I loaded  them on top of 4.5gr of HP-38. About 1120 ft/s from my Glock 34.  They lead out the barrel very bad very quick in all my Glocks. I did some reading and figure I was scraping the coating during seating. So I started flaring out the cases much more and was real careful during seating and crimping.  I even trIED sport pistol powder and I pull more than a few bullets out of the batch to verify the coating wasn’t damaged and the bullet weren’t underside during the crimp. They still lead up the barrels in by G26, g19 and G34 in hurry. I have loaded some 125 and 147 grain bullets from Blue Bullets and have had no problems. What and I doing wrong. 

A809FD17-E9C1-4BCB-9345-8D1242A0BA76.jpeg

41F4D4FB-93D8-46EF-A8F3-F3C6F6361EC5.jpeg

• Replies 58
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Don't over crimp your bullet and crack the coating underneath the brass case. I only crimp my coated bullets tight enough to keep them in place. I started out by crimping one round and then pull it out the case to see if it's just tight enough to put a mark all the way around the bullet, but it does not over press or crack the coating.

The bullets are .356. As I stated I did start flying the cases more to about .389-.390. And i only crimp them doe to .378-.3775 There is a picture of a bullet that has been pulled. No damage to coating and the bullet still measures .356

Edited by Sean_Doe

I bought some 0.40 coated from a new local vendor and a few friends did also. We all had leading issues, the vendor said it had something to do with how he applied the coating and offered refunds.