Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

I haven't gone shooting in quite a while. I grabbed some ammo from my shelf and headed to the range.  I started shooting the Deagle 50. Why? Because I love shooting it. I then started shooting the CZ Shadow. So far so good. I then started shooting the Baer 45. Two mags in, I get a click and no boom. So I slap, rack and just before the boom part, I hear a voice yelling, STOP!. I glance down and see that the ejected shell has no bullet. I know darn well that I didn't load an empty piece of brass into my mag. I break the gun down and damn...there' a bullet in the barrel. The next round had chambered and I could have pulled the trigger with disastrous results. The ammunition was a box of about 30 rds that I had from a while ago. I had a squib then and thought that I had pulled all of the bullets from that batch. This was from when I had first switched to the 650. I wasn't used to auto progress of the shell plate. With the 550 I could stop in the middle of a handle pull and not have the case move on. I've gotten the hang of it now but I must have missed the last of my problem loads. The interesting part of this story is that when I heard STOP, I looked around thinking that it was an RO yelling at me. I was alone on the range.