Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

125 or 147gr. for USPSA

Snowman50

Currently I'm in my first year in USPSA, and the feel of shooting 147's is less snappy, but don't notice a difference between 125 or 147 grain bullets using the same powder (N320).  I have been told stay with 147's because there flatter shooting.  I tend to see the dot better with the heavier bullet in practice, but not so at a local match.. so do I shoot both in practice and then decide?

Others may have a different experience and I shoot irons but I notice little difference between 124, 135 and 147 gr bullets. At least nothing appreciable that's going to outweigh other factors in choosing a bullet, such as price, availability, quality and accuracy.

Sent from my SM-G930U using Tapatalk

For me, 147gr produce a push on the gun and it gets back on target faster.  124gr are more of a flip.  But That's just me with my load and guns.  You may or may not experience the same results.

For starters, you have to tune your gun to your load.  As far as bullets of different weights at the same PF, it is preference.  A lighter bullet will hit your hand harder, but cycling will be quicker and your sights won't rise as much.  As you go up the weight scale the hit gets softer, cycling is slower and the muzzle rises more.  I prefer the feel of 124s.  A shooting buddy loves 135s.  A couple of shooters use 147s.  To me, shooting 147s feels like I could take a nap before the slide goes back into battery.

It is just the opposite in Limited.  Most prefer 180s, because the recoil is softer for major loads.  I eventually gravitated to 165s because I was back on target faster.  135s and 155s didn't work for me in Limited.