Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

New shooter with CZ SP-01 vs Shadow 2 for small hands

ML123

Hello, I am new and thought I would post this to get some opinions.  Plus I have seen the issue come up a few times and maybe this could be useful to another person with small hands!

I am just getting started in shooting sports and have a Glock 17/22 I have been using.  I like it but I have small hands and the bulky Glock grip doesn't fit real well.  I wanted to  upgrade without spending a ton of money on yet another gun so I purchased a new Manual Safety SP-01 which just showed up this week.  The grip fits me well but the trigger is a pretty far reach in DA and I have to still break my grip to hit the mag release.  See pic.

The more I look into it the Shadow 2 frame has a undercut trigger guard and higher cut beaver tail which would move my hand higher and possibly fit better with the trigger?

I found the answer to that question today when I found a gun shop with a Shadow 2 in stock and got my hands on one.  They had blue grip SA one, a TSO and an Accushadow which I am in love with but is out my price range at this point.  Bottom line is the S2 definitely fits my hand WAY better than the SP-01, I dont have to break my grip to release the mag and I can get my hand up higher and closer to the trigger with way better reach in DA.  Plus I like the front slide serrations better and OMG the trigger on the accushadow is ridiculous.  They also had a TSO which I did not realize has a different grip and it does not fit my hand as well as a regular S2 as it is larger and it to is SA.  I would like DA for dry fire practice which I do frequently so the Blue grips S2 is out.

Options and opinions?