Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

WHAT CAUSED THIS?! Blew Up My X5 Legion...

Solsand

Full disclosure- REALLY LONG POST but a really bad experience. So, I’m hoping that the wealth of knowledge and experience on this forum can help me figure out what happened here. Full disclosure, it’s a REALLY, REALLY long post but I’m asking for patience because it resulted in a really hazardous outcome and I REALLY need some help. Obviously, I had a round – a handload – un-ass itself in the chamber of my X5 Legion, but I can’t say for sure what the cause was. To some of you it might be obvious. I’m hoping you folks can help me be as confident as possible about what exactly the cause was.

First, I’d like to say I am an experienced shooter, age 58 shooting in mostly local matches – IDPA, USPSA and some 2-gun and rifle matches. I am NOT however an experienced hand loader. In fact, other than shot shells when I was a youth, I am a completely green beginner. I had ZERO desire to enter the world of reloading, especially 9mm. It was cheap and available. Perfectly content shooting Federal Syntech 150gr in my pistols and the 130gr in my PCC. But COVID-19 had a predictably adverse effect on both Syntech cost and availability. Point is, several of my fellow match shooters felt like I was living in the Stone Age and could save a lot of money while “creating” custom loads that were every bit the equal of, or better than, the Syntech. I had lots of experienced (most with 20 years plus) reloaders giving me lots of great advice. Since I only had interest in doing 9mm I didn’t want to run out and buy a Dillon 1050, so I purchased a Lee Auto Breech Lock Pro 4000, which came out of the box ready to load 9mm. EVERYONE had they’re favorite bullets, powder, primers and recipes but in an effort to duplicate what I was already comfortable with (Syntech 150gr), I was “advised” to use a fast powder (Titegroup) and a heavy coated bullet (147gr Blue Bullet Flat Nose), 3.0gr with CCI SSP and an OAL of 1.1