Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Which Taper crimp for 45 acp 1911

GearHead36

I'm fairly new to reloading rimless cartridges. Most of my experience has been with revolver cartridges and 30-30 rifle, all of which use a roll crimp. I recently bought a used Hornady Lock-N-Load AP, and it came with dies. The dies (Hornady) are the roll crimp version. I've tried to seat a bullet, and do a plunk test to find my max COAL, but... I have now verified that I have the wrong crimp for my gun. Anyway.... which is better? Lee's FCD or Hornady's taper crimp die?

The guy who did this comparison likes Dillon dies best, followed by Hornady, then Lee, but that's mostly for the sizing die. I wouldn't mind sticking with Hornady if the quality of the die and crimp are the same. That way, if I have a problem, I won't have Lee and Hornady pointing fingers at each other.

5 minutes ago, Dwbsig said:

Don’t get the Lee factory crimp die just get a Hornady or lee taper crimp die. The lee fcd will swage you lead bullets down to the size of jacketed bullets.

Ah, I didn't even realize that Lee had a taper crimp die. I thought the FCD was the only one they had.

Thanks.

3 hours ago, DougM said:

Are you sure the Hornady dies are roll crimps?  I have Hornady 45ACP dies and mine are taper crimped.  How did you determine they are roll crimped?

I took the die apart, and observed a hard ridge in the die body. A taper crimp would be smooth. I have the 546554 set. On Hornady's site, that set is shown with a seating die (044151) but not a taper crimp seating die (no # for that). They DO specify a P/N (044172) for a taper crimp only die.

You have a older set of Hornady  dies to load 45 acp/45 colt /45 win mag/45 AR.

I have a set . IT is a roll crimp seat/crimp combo.  At one time you roll

crimped them all including ACP.  Later you could perchance a taper crimp

die . winch you need .

Edited by AHI