Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Quickload accuracy w/ 9mm & Silhouette

d3ydx3

I am relatively new to reloading and started w/ 9mm minor powered rounds. Powder supplies have been limited here locally, so I am working with Silhouette and Universal. I understand that Silhouette is not the best 9mm minor powder, but supposedly meters well and is accurate even though it is dirty at lower charges.

With that said, today was the 1st opportunity that I had to chronograph some of my loads. I also modeled them with Quickload and found some interesting discrepancies. My loads are obviously not very consistent. Any thoughts on why and why the Quickload data is off? For a baseline I shot a few rounds of my Magtech 124gr FMJ to confirm the chronograph was functioning correctly, which it appears that was the case.

All of the data assumes a 4.7" barrel, which is what I shot with my Sig P320 Full Size. If I change Quickload to a 4" barrel, then the data is much more inline with Quickload. The bullet type in Quickload is set to .355, 124, RN Rainier 9mm, which from my understanding is pretty close to the Berry's 124gr RN bullets.

Post image

Post image

Post image

Post image

The inconsistency is going to come from slight variations in powder charge, oal, and bullet weight variation usually.
What are you using to meter powder and seat bullets? Progressive press? If so a consistent pull on the handle will help get your loads more consistent, and so will high quality Bullets. Berry are a good quality bullet and should not cause too much variation

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

2 hours ago, looking4reloadingdeals said:

The inconsistency is going to come from slight variations in powder charge, oal, and bullet weight variation usually.