Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Reloading 135 gr. RN (DG Bullets)

Slowgoing31

Hey folks, I’ve been a lurker for a long while but the time has come to post and ask a question. I’m sitting a bunch of DG Bullets, specifically, 135 gr. Round nose. I’ve been searching here and bunch of other forums for data that I can experiment with but with little luck. Most OAL I’ve seen state 1.155 to 1.150. My pistols have short chambers I guess since I cannot pass the cartridges when I do plunk tests until I hit less than 1.1310 or slightly shorter (1.1240) depending on the brass. 

My questions is, does anyone else here have experience loading cartridges using 135 gr. DG Bullets with a compact pistol such as G19 Gen5 and CZ P10C? I’m fairly new to reloading so I’m a little gun shy about too far from proven recipes. I have access to WSF and AAC#2 powders.

Any feedback would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

Never used 135gr bullets, but I do load a lot of 147s and that oal would be long for me. Using Brazos 147s I load to 1.095” oal, and with Blues I had load all the way down to 1.050” oal. Have you actually loaded any of these up yet or just loaded dummy rounds for the plunk test? At an oal of 1.13” you will be more than fine loading to the min load recommended in your loading manuals and from the powder manufacturers. I don’t use either of those powders so I can’t tell you what I personally have used.

I personally use Titegroup powder and at a min load I haven’t noticed much difference when changing the seating depth too much. For example, the deep seated blue bullet load has basically the same velocity as a SNS FP bullet loaded at 1.13. Between the different profile and oal, there is much less case capacity in the blue Bullets load, yet with the same powder charge I get the same velocities.