Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

PCC: What works for you?

I dabble in PCC, rarely shoot it in USPSA (every time I shoot a USPSA match with it, I think how much fun it would be with a handgun), but shoot it in the 2x4 3 gun division and steel challenge. I'm no expert but if my gear isn't working I am not having fun. Below are the items I have found work well for me. Keep in mind I have no ties to any of these brands, I just want a PCC that runs 100% of the time.

The lower: JP or Jones have treated me well, but haven't played with any others. I was told that the mag sits at a better angle/distance from the chamber and this assists with reliability. 

The bolt: JP all the way.

The Barrel: I've played with ramped and non ramped barrels, and am currently running a taccom ramped 14.5 with muzzle break pin and welded. The ramped had to be grounded down to fit into the Jones lower I currently utilize.

Buffer System: I love the JP Silent Captured Springs and have been a big fan for a while now. When it came to the PCC I chose the JP standard weight short stroke. One day I want to play with the Heavy version, but not a priority right now.

Everything else I don't believe will impact the PCC's ability to fire with every round. I have a hyperfire trigger, a Gibbs upper, a Oden works forearm, and a mft minimalist stock (considering switching out).

This isn't intended to be a Ford vs. Chevy type of conversation. This post is intended for those that want to learn what works and what doesn't with a PCC.

What other items/brands do you have that make your PCC run flawlessly?

6 minutes ago, egd5 said:

A JP gmr-15. No messing with a mix of parts.

This is the only factory rifle I’d take to a match unfired, and find myself surprised if it malfunctioned.

If you want to piece your rifle together with a quality upper and lower, fill it with JP moving parts and it will run.

Edited by MemphisMechanic