Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Old guy, new to USPSA. Need advice or tips

I'm 68 yrs old and I've been shooting local club steel challenge type matches for about 10 years. I think I'm pretty proficient, especially for my age. I really want to get more involved with shooting USPSA matches. I've only shot one so far and had a blast, even though I was pretty darn slow. Here's one of the main problems I'm having and I am hoping to find some tips or advice to work with.  I don't know if it's my age, but I have a tough time remembering the layout once that timer goes off. While I'm waiting to shoot I try to analyze the stage, but when the timer starts....... I would really like to hear how you more experienced USPSA shooter handle remembering the stage.

Thanks!

Edited by Warpspasm
Edit

The timer is designed to wipe out your short term memory, so that's normal😀.  I'm also 68, but have been shooting USPSA/IDPA for 17 years.  It takes practice to plan stages. Watch some of the more experienced shooters.  Ask other shooters, most will gladly help you out.  Use the walk thru time to repeat the course over and over.   Some people say shooting a higher capacity gun helps.  

Hope this helps...

Keep your plan simple making sure all targets are accounted for. It's easier to shoot and move without stopping or hesitating if you are confidant with your plan. As you shoot more matches you will be able to improve your stage planning to save a little time here and there. 

If you can't close your eyes and shoot the stage in your head from memory, you are not ready to shoot the stage yet.  You have to run it in your mind as many times as it takes.  Obviously the harder the stage, the more reps it will take.  You have to memorize the shooting order of the targets, where you will shoot each target and from what position, along with mag changes etc.. 

37 minutes ago, RangerTrace said: