Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Posted (edited)

I'm kind of new to the coated bullets scene. I mostly shoot jacketed or plated. So I was wondering how fast do you push a coated bullet like these 125 grain 9 mm / 38 Super.

I ask this because I'm using 4.5 green dot. And that's giving me a velocity of about 1100 feet per second with almost no recoil. But that don't seem to be pushing the slide back quite far enough on my CZ 75 sp-01 Phantom for if the Go 100% in the battery. It don't happen every time but it happens about once or twice every mag with these loads in this bullet

20200504_145332-1.jpg

Edited by usmc1974

Any chance it could be oal related? Did these plunk and spin test ok? I just had my leade opened up on my SP-01, it'll take anything I load at the moment, but have only loaded MG Gold HP and 124gr RN in coated...

Little confused by your post.  You say it's not pushing the slide "back" quite far enough to go 100% into battery.  I suspect you meant you think the slide isn't returning "forward" far enough to go into battery every time.  If so, as other have said, make sure you don't have marginally too long of an OAL.  It does look long in the photo.  If you're comfortable with OAL then look at your ejection pattern.   If you're throwing cases more than a few feet away from the gun then you can probably get away with a stronger recoil spring to give a more positive return to battery.  

The COAL is 1.120- 1.124. The crimp is .378. They run in my Beretta 92 just fine. 

What I mean is when I put the magazine in the pistol, and pull the slide all the way back it goes completely in the battery,  and it does this most of the time while I'm shooting it.

It runs fine on my 125 grain jacketed hollow-point and 6 grains of power pistol, rounds. I thought maybe it was just this Style of bullet.

Posted (edited)
48 minutes ago, usmc1974 said:

The COAL is 1.120- 1.124. The crimp is .378. They run in my Beretta 92 just fine.