Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Rock Island HC Build - need opinions...

OnVacation

///open bucket of worms///

I recently picked up a new RIA Pro-Match Ultra HC in .40 (the para clone with checkered front strap and full dust cover).  I'm planning on building it to shoot limited minor and 3-gun.  I need opinions on the build list, I included rationale when I could think of it.  I'm new to the 2011 (not modifying or working on guns, or 1911s).  I know that the RIA HCs have some idiosyncracies, so I want to make sure I'm not getting into a part mixture that won't work.  :

Barrel - KKM Hybrid in 9mm, currently backordered, I'm on the wait list.  Going to have barrel/slide fitted by Gans, slide and barrel tri-topped.  

Magwell - Hayes custom (I do not like the sharp edges on the factor magwell and want a bigger target for reloads)

Thumb Safety - Limcat single side shielded safety (I find that I occasionally put the safety 'on' with my hands in a firm grip, or fail to completely deactivate the safety because the ambi-side contacts my knuckle.)

Sear and Hammer pins - C&S TiN coated

Sear, Hammer, and disconnector - Extreme engineering Warp Speed

Hammer Strut - EGW titanium long strut

Mainspring plunger - EGW Titanium

Mainspring - Shooters connection

Firing Pin - Dawson extended

Extractor - EGW Heavy Duty

Magazine Catch - Dawson extended

Trigger - Dlask ultralight

Mags - MBX and Hayes tuned Remington 19rd'ers

Planning on keeping the current grip safety and pinning and blending it.  Still not sure what/if MSH I would go to, or if the factory one is good enough.  

Planning on having the final product cerakoted in the elite series (the low-coefficient friction stuff).  

Where am I going astray, what risks am I assuming, what am I forgetting?

Are you changing the slide or just running the 9mm barrel on the .40 breech face? I know there are mixed opinions about that.