Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

RFPI Low Ready to First Plate

Poozinsc

Hello.  I have been shooting Steel Challenge for several years (RFRO primarily) and had to step away for awhile due to some real life issues.  Upon return , and now having plenty of time, I decided to challenge myself and picked my worst division (RFPI) and set a goal of eventually earning an A classification.

I've been doing a lot of dry fire (I bought the banner set -- love 'em), have been doing a lot of the drills in Ken's book and some Enos drills.  My transitions have become pretty decent.  I have improved a bunch in the last several months.  However, the one skill that is really killing me is coming from the low ready to the first plate.  I do use a shot timer/par timer in my training.

Any tips, drills or advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance....

Set up and dry run the process of low ready to the first target 2-4 times before starting your first string and at least 1 or 2 times before starting your remaining 3-4 strings.  

More Importantly - And I have watched this by every Grand Master and Master shooter - After you complete your dry run - your low ready start position for your head and EYES are on the first target - NOT your sights.......Watch videos on line and you will see that the professionals are looking at their first target before the start buzzer sounds......Just a suggestion..... 

8 minutes ago, Sigarmsp226 said:

your low ready start position for your head and EYES are on the first target - NOT your sights.....