Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

NEWBY QUESTION: Wet Tumbling

GDIS46

I have a Diamond Technologies 65T wet tumbler with a 8.5 gallons drum.  I have never used a wet tumbler before, only have used a vibrating tumbler with corn cob and walnut shells.  I have about 20 pounds of Pellets LLC stainless pins. 

I would like to know:

1. How much brass should I attempt to clean at one time?

2. How much water should I put in?

3. What additives should I use?

4. How many pounds of stainless pins do I use?

5.  How long do I tumble the brass for?

I assume I have to de-prime the brass first so the primer pockets get clean.

I appreciate any advise if you are a wet tumbler since I have never done this before.

Gary in San Diego

1e41c066-88e9-4e69-b07a-9abcb88bea13_1.3fc4329aad81eb726ad1086e0dd42c20.jpg

Edited by GDIS46

Men have been known to fight to the death over decapping first lol

Personally I like to decap first because to me it's a hobby and I enjoy it. I also do not want to do any kind of weird drying process or have trouble later with water in the primers. 

Use about 4-6 ounces of armorall wash and wax, about 1 brass full of lemi shine and about 2 ounces of cascade rinse agent. You don't have to be exact at all. Fill it to the top with water. For the pins, again guys fight to the death over weather to use them or not. I use them, about 10 pounds to 1 1/2 gallons of brass. Weird measurements I know but my tumbler is 2 gallons. Again that is not an exact science either. Just put as much weight in as you can handle and go for it. 

Brass juice is the new kool-aid to and about half of the posts you get will tell you to go buy it. You'll probably get a few posts saying to use the search and then they will later tell you their methods witch I always thought was strange.