Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Keep 650 or Sell and Upgrade to 750?

I have been loading on a dillon 550 ever since I started shooting USPSA/SCSA 5-6 years ago when I was still in college. Now that life has settled down and I have more gun money I'm wanting to upgrade in the coming months. I'm planning on loading only 9mm and using a dillon casefeeder and a mr bullet feeder. I already have the bullet feeder purchased. I also have a 650 press that I picked up at a local estate auction 2 years ago for a good deal. It has been sitting in my gun room since and I was setting it aside so I could upgrade when ready/needed. Now with the 750 on the market I'm wondering if I should sell the 650 and go for the 750.

Here is what it would take to make my 650 operational

• Small primer parts, it's setup for large. Looks like ~$65 in parts from dillon (primer disc, punch arm, and primer magazine) 
  • 9mm Conv kit $85
  • Casefeeder - $300 

And likely a roller handle and skylights later on, but not absolutely necessary to get up and running. My 650 as it sits is on a strong mount with no conversion kit. It also has 2 toolheads with powder dies and one powder measure that I would sell with the press. It's an older generation, no idea of its actual age but it doesn't have the grease zerks on the linkage pivot pins. I have seen some nice deals on 650 packages so who knows what I could sell mine for... $450? im not sure. It's old but looks good cosmetically and I don't think its loaded a ton of rounds. He was loading 45 ACP and 44mag on the press.