Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Hi, I'm bad. Advice please?

lroy

I've been shooting matches about 6 months. This is my first time having someone record me. The resulting video is way different than what I thought I was doing in my head. 

I tried to go through it myself and see areas to improve, but would really appreciate outside feedback and what others think would be the most beneficial to work on for the biggest improvement. 

What I noticed was 

1. Draw was slow - Roughly a 7 yard HS. Took too long to confirm. - My dryfire draws are fast, this was not. Need more practice live to reinforce confidence. 

2. Don't move immediately after finished with target. I move like a boat trying to pick up speed. Work on really kicking off the ground to accelerate harder. 

3. Don't move fast enough between positions. Once I do get moving, it's not at a quick enough pace.

4. Don't stop to engage position 3, move directly to port and shoot on move. 

5. Shoot the port targets on move while walking to last position. 

6. Be ready to fire once you get into position. Have the gun up and ready. Stutter step to slow down and steady sights before target becomes visible.

------------------

Those are things I thought I could work on. I'm not ultra confident in hitting partials on the move yet, hence my hard stops to engage, but it's something I would like to be able to do soon.

I think the lowest hanging fruit would be to really focus on moving hard and being ready once I get into position, then pushing out hard to the next. It seems like that ate up the most time for me, but I'd really appreciate the advice of people with more experience.

A big one is mounting the gun sooner; at around :22-ish that thing should have been mounted already as you entered that far right position. 

If you are concerned about your draw time on a tough target, make sure your dryfire includes...…...drawing to a tough target. Probably not a marksmanship problem, so live fire not indicated.