Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Newb gear advice for carry optics?

Lesliet

Hi, another noob here with gear questions!  *grin*.  I've been shooting speed steel matches for just over a year, so I have SOME useful kit, like good belt/holster/mag pouches rig from Ben's pro-shop. I looked at the guns I have, and there's nothing that will really be quite right for USPSA.  My thought so far, and plan is to compete in the Carry Optics division, as my vision doesn't work well with iron sights. Thinking about buying a Sig p320 X5 Legion, as being a pretty reasonably priced gun that already has all the stuff I would have had to pay for later to upgrade. I see it's on the 'approved production gun" list, and without the magwell, it weighs 41.7 oz. with an empty mag. This leaves enough room on weight to allow for an adapter plate and and pretty good choice of reflex sights. ( I prefer a circle-dot reticle, or I'd just use the Romeo 1, and no adapter)

I'm thinking Carry Optics might work for me, because the optics part is pretty much non negotiable, and I don't want to compete dollar for dollar with guys running $4000 pistols. 

So, my questions are: 

1)  Does this sound like a reasonable plan?  Any pitfalls that you guys see?  

This pistol comes with 3X 17 round mags.  Does anyone know if the 21 round mags meet the length limit for CO without being modified? 

2)  Starting conditions... As best I've been able to tell, this pistol is SA only, with no manual safety. It is striker fired.  Do you start with the pistol holstered in most cases, cocked with a round in the chamber? I'd hate to have to rack the slide after drawing, if other gun designs allow for a different starting condition.