Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Prescription Eye Glasses - Optics vs Iron Sights

Hoops

I have been wearing Decot HyWy Shooting Glasses (Phoenix) for at least 6 years.  Love the glasses and the folks there.  But, when I first started shooting competitions, I was shooting Iron (fiber optic) front sights.  About 3 years ago, I began to mix in pistol mounded red-dots.  My glasses worked for both.  About 18 months ago, I got caught up in and have stayed in PCCO and RFRO.  I rarely shoot pistols anymore.  I am 68 1/2 years old.  About six months into shooting carbines, I noticed a bit of eye struggle but still managed to hold my own in local steel matches.....made M class last year in both PCCO and RFRO.   Lately, the eye struggle continues.  I have an eye exam scheduled and will be able to compare to my current 2 year old exam.

Good shooter friends of mine tell me they may lean towards the distance prescription with the carbines and red dots.  I am near and far sighted.  The Saturday I am planning on using my driving glasses, an older (weaker) pair of shooting glasses and my current shooting glasses to see if I can get an idea before my eye exam.

I am curious how some of you more mature shooters go about this problem?

Thank you.

Hoops - I am 60 and recently started experiencing some of the same issues...A gentleman friend I was shooting with who had been down the same pathway suggested I spend $20.00 to see if his idea, that worked for him, would work for me...I did what he said and it worked.....

Allow me to share what he taught me...currently I wear 2.50 - 2.75 power reading glasses and I also wear driving glasses. What he suggested I try was to order off of EBay a set of 1.50 power and a set of 2.00 power safety shooting glasses. Cost - $9.50 a pair with free shipping from a US seller....Brand Name is Elvex......