Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

40 expander die questions

slodsm

I’ll preface this by saying I’ve been reloading about 14 years, I’m far from an expert but I’m pretty experienced with 9mm, 223, 308, 6.5cm, and shotgun. Tens of thousands of rounds each and I’ve never had an issue until I decided I was going to start reloading 40. 

I’m using range pick up brass from elite reloading, Hornady lnl ap, Hornady dies and shell plate. I can run 9mm through this thing non stop without issue only stopping to refill primers. 

I can NOT achieve the same thing with 40. My issue is the expander die, I can’t figure out how much bell to put in the case. The bullets I use are Brazos precision 180’s, they’re coated lead. If I put 9mm size bell in the case, it scrapes the coating off the base of the bullet and it ends up on the outside of the case and fails the hell out of the plunk test. 

If I tighten down in the expander die a bit, I lose the shaving issue BUT the bell is big enough it seems less than ideal (over working the brass) and leaves a bit of a lip even after going through the seating/crimp die. 

I’m at a loss, the lead bullets aren’t the issue I don’t think, I use them in 9mm and they’re pretty high quality. Can anyone maybe run a 40 through their expander and take a picture and post it? I'm just trying to get a visual reference for this caliber before I either shave all of my bullets or flare all my brass too much lol.  Thanks for any help guys. 

your problem is your seater/crimp die.. reason most of us seat in one die, crimp in another.
Flare enough you can stick the bullet in and it stays straight.
On your seat/crimp back the crimp portion all the way out.. Get your OAL correct.  Then adjust crimp portion. Sounds like your die is starting to crimp before the bullet is all the way seated.

15 minutes ago, Joe4d said:

your problem is your seater/crimp die.. reason most of us seat in one die, crimp in another.