Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Beginner need help with choosing basic gear

MFM22

I've seen many that suggest  start with what you have before buying "competition " rig. Not sure I want to go that route 

I'm willing to spend a few bucks  & don't see the sense in using a regular leather belt and a cheap holster etc.

I can understand if your under financial constraints  but in looking around it seems $200 -300 gets a good rig 

I'm going to use my Glock 34 G5 and will need belt , holster, mag pouch ,   This will be for USPSA  production .

i know I'm a complete newbie but if I need to practice it makes sense to have good solid tools 

At my age it's more a necessity than luxury .   Never having drawn a pistol from hip will take lots of reps and figured that in itself is reason to have a good set up that doesn't need to be changed any time soon 

I live in an anti gun state (NY) and most if practice will be dry fire and indoor ranges. Hoping to find some outdoor facilities here on Long Island soon 

thanks in advance for any suggestions 

I would definitely grab a solid belt, pouches, and holster. Ben stoeger has some good packages in his online store.

when I started, first thing I did was buy a good belt. Those lgs budget mag pouches and holster went on a DAA belt and it made a world of difference.

shooting is an expensive sport, I think most of the saying of waiting to buy stuff is to keep some new shooters from feeling like they need a 2011 to compete.

I started with just a sturdy leather belt and some clipon mag pouches. I now own many belts and mag pouches that are just sitting around. If it were me, I'd go straight for the competition rig. I basically just bought every tier along the way.

Ironically, I would have saved money just going for the competition rig. 

I used to live on LI. It never once occurred to me that guns were even accessible until I moved to Georgia. Where on the island are you?

Edited by lroy