Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Recognizing crimped primers

BHogan

Hello, 

I'm brand new to reloading...I've been reading constantly for over a month, and have a Dillon 650 that's ready to go for the 9mm and 45 ACP I plan to run. I've got myself all worked up over primer safety though, and I'm particularly concerned about crimped primers and could use some expert help. 

I know I'm looking for that secondary circle around the primer, but I'm not sure my eyes would recognize it and some brass, like blazer and S&B seems to have a bit more space around the primer (maybe just a bigger chamfer?) that I'm not sure about.  I bought 1000 Starline 45 cases, but got range brass for the 9mm and I'm kicking myself. I know WCC are supposed to be a concern so I'll start there...

Are any of the cases in these two photos crimped? I'm thinking the ones with the dots maybe? 

20200206_132014_copy_598x336.jpg

1 minute ago, BHogan said:

Hello, 

I'm brand new to reloading...I've been reading constantly for over a month, and have a Dillon 650 that's ready to go for the 9mm and 45 ACP I plan to run. I've got myself all worked up over primer safety though, and I'm particularly concerned about crimped primers and could use some expert help. 

I know I'm looking for that secondary circle around the primer, but I'm not sure my eyes would recognize it and some brass, like blazer and S&B seems to have a bit more space around the primer (maybe just a bigger chamfer?) that I'm not sure about.  I bought 1000 Starline 45 cases, but got range brass for the 9mm and I'm kicking myself. I know WCC are supposed to be a concern so I'll start there...

Are any of the cases in these two photos crimped? I'm thinking the ones with the dots maybe? 

20200206_132014_copy_598x336.jpg

Pretty much every single one of those cases have crimped primer pockets. Enjoy.

6 minutes ago, m700 said: