Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Witness for self defense

Iedj

Need advice and opinions please. Is a Tangfolio/EAA Standard model in a  full size frame in either 45 acp or 10mm a reliable and durable weapon for ccw.  Would you trust your life with it. Glocks and Sigs are known to be trusted in self defense, but I could not find much information regarding a Witness as a combat/defensive handgun.  Any thoughts, please, will be very appreciated. Thank you. 

Since no one has opinioned, I will contribute something, fwiw.  I have a full size 45 (with 22 conversion) that I have shot a couple hundred rounds through.  100% out of the box as good as any others I have including 1911.  No experience with a 10mm but I wouldn't pick such a long load as I have read there can be more feed/eject issues.  I do have a 40 P for home defense with a streamlight.  Never thought about ccw with the tanfo so no help there, but if it is not too big/heavy for you, ok.  I have no experience with the striker fires, etc that everyone swears by.  If you decide to use it as your life defender, don't forget to choose your ammo and plunk and test fire some.  Reliability starts there.

I own 7 different Tanfoglios.  Mine have proven to be just as reliable as any of my other CZs, Caniks, Stars, Smith & Wessons, Berettas......you get the point. Tanfoglios are my favorite. Just fit my hand very well. The issue your going to run into is holster options. You will be hard to find many options well suited for CCW. 

Trust me this issue can be a pretty significant issue. I've carried a Star Firestar Plus for over a decade. Love the gun, but holster options are far and few between.  My newer carry, CZ 75 Compact has way more options. 

Just something to think about. 

Without a doubt the biggest downside to using Tanfos for self defense are a lack of holsters and a lack of sights. Does anyone make night sights for Tanfos?