Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

What holster do you use for 3gun?

kcin

What holster is best suited for 3 Gun?  

I have been shooting USPSA for about 9 years and just recently started shooting a few multi gun matches. I have found that the drop offset holster that I've been using for production isn't the most ideal set up.  The few matches that I have attended the other competitors were pretty "Timmy tactical" so I really don't have a good idea of what serious competitors are actually using. 

I used my race holster for awhile.  Then there was a stage that made us go prone while the pistol was holstered.  Bad stage design, but I did it anyway and ground the living hell out of my front sight.  After that, I picked up a Thunder Holster from Hammer Armament for my 2011, and it does a fine job of protecting the gun and giving it a little more retention.  That guy's edge work on the Kydex is the best I've seen.  If you're shooting a more mainstream gun, the CompTac International is a great holster that will do anything you need it to do.  Some people like to go with Level 2 retention on these rigs, but I never really felt the need.

What is it about your current holster that you think is unsuitable? 

11 minutes ago, XDoctor said:

What is it about your current holster that you think is unsuitable? 

If I have to go prone on my strong side I would rather not lay on DOH.  

The current holster I've been using is the Double Alpha  PDR PRO-II.  Its a great holster for Production and SS but I just feel the drop offset will end up getting in the way.

1 hour ago, kcin said:

If I have to go prone on my strong side I would rather not lay on DOH.  

The current holster I've been using is the Double Alpha  PDR PRO-II.  Its a great holster for Production and SS but I just feel the drop offset will end up getting in the way.